Promoting Poetry in Scotland

the edwin morgan poetry competition ran from 2008 to 2012, by which time, sponsored by the University of Strathclyde and hosted by the Edinburgh International Book Festival, it offered one of the biggest poetry prizes in the UK, with awards totalling £6,600 and a First Prize of £5,000.

The judges in 2008 were Colette Bryce, Donny O'Rourke and Richard Price; for 2009, Ron Butlin and Polly Clark; for 2010, Robert Crawford and Kathleen Jamie; for 2011, Kona MacPhee and Vicki Feaver, and for 2012 Don Paterson.

Competition Winners

2012: jen hadfield

2011: jane mckie

2010: a. b. jackson

2009: paul batchelor

2008: kate miller